Inclusive Design Challenge

The success of AbleLink's participation in the Inclusive Design Challenge, culminating in a 2nd-place finish and $700,000 prize, was in large part due to the work of the Project Steering Committee. These individuals, representing the best in research, academia, travel training, and real-life home environments, served for two years on the project. The variety of perspectives and contributions from the Committee members helped to shape the research and development process.

Project Steering Committee

Inclusive Design Challenge logo Carmen DiGiovine - The Ohio State University; RESNA
Sandra Metzler - Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, The Ohio State University
Maggie Nygren - Executive Director, AAIDD
Ben Satterfield - Tools for Life, Georgia Institute of Technology
Blake Satterfield - Self-Advocate (Lawrenceville, GA)
Pat Satterfield - Parent / Advocate (Lawrenceville, GA)
Jill Shelton - Cognitive Aging, Learning, and Memory Lab; University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
Shaleea Shields - Chief Executive Officer, LumiCare (Erdenheim, PA)
John Shutko - Technical Lead - Human Factors, Autonomous Vehicles; Ford Motor Company
Shea Tanis - Beach Center on Disability; University of Kansas
John Waterman - Executive Director, PEAC (Ypsilanti, MI)
Mike Wehmeyer - Director, Beach Center on Disability; University of Kansas